book review

  • cover image for school for psychics
    book review,  Books

    School for Psychics by K.C. Archer – (a flashback book review)

    Nobody’s perfect – not the main character of K.C. Archer’s School for Psychics, Teddy Cannon – and clearly, not me. Because despite loving this book and reviewing it’s sequel here on the blog (spoiler – there is a sequel), I apparently only reviewed the book itself on Amazon and Goodreads. And since I enjoyed it so much, I thought I’d do a bit of a flashback review and share it now. (And if you decide to read it now, YOU don’t have to wait for the sequel. See how thoughtful I am?) I received an advanced copy of the book from the publisher via NetGalley; all opinions are my own.…

    Comments Off on School for Psychics by K.C. Archer – (a flashback book review)
  • Book cover image of Sing Me Forgotten
    book review,  Books

    Sing Me Forgotten by Jessica S. Olson – Book Review

    Enough time has passed to almost forgive author Jessica S Olson for RIPPING OUT MY HEART in her novel Sing Me Forgotten, a hauntingly beautiful gender-bent retelling of Phantom of the Opera. Almost. Read on for my review. And send caramels. Many thanks go to Inkyard Press and Netgalley for providing me with an ARC of the book. All opinions are my own. This post contains some affiliate links that may earn me a commission if you purchase through them. My Thoughts On Sing Me Forgotten This was a beautiful, haunting and, I’ll say it, heartwrenching book (GLARES AT THE AUTHOR).  Sing Me Forgotten is a gender-bent retelling of Phantom of…

    Comments Off on Sing Me Forgotten by Jessica S. Olson – Book Review
  • book review,  Books

    Magic For Liars by Sarah Gailey – Book Review

    I’m catching up on all the book reviews I meant to do just before a polar vortex gripped Texas and knocked out all power1. The only writing I did last week was on paper, and unfortunately, the writing the week before that was mostly in my head. Sorry you didn’t get to read it. It was really good. Just like Magic for Liars was REALLY good. I loved it! (How smooth was that segue???) This post contains some affiliate links that may earn me a commission if you purchase through them.   1At least, that’s my story, and I’m sticking to it. SYNOPSIS     REVIEW I ADORED Magic for…

    Comments Off on Magic For Liars by Sarah Gailey – Book Review
  • Blog tour Banner for Pudge and Prejudice by AK Pittman
    book review,  Books

    PUDGE AND PREJUDICE by A.K. Pittman – Book Blog Tour and Review

    Today on the blog I’m happily joining up with Lone Star Book Blog Tours to bring you A. K. Pittman’s FABULOUS Pudge and Prejudice. I don’t know who geeked out more over this book – the ’80s teen me or the Austen fan in me. Either way, we both absolutely loved this book. Read on to find out why, enter the fun giveaway, and check out the tour list for more great takes on this witty, sweet, and heartwarming book.  SO many thanks go out to A.K. Pittman and Lone Star Book Blog Tours for providing me with a review copy. All opinions, typos, and teen flashbacks are mine alone.…

  • Blog post Featured image for The Ex Talk
    book review,  Books

    The Ex Talk by Rachel Lynn Solomon – Book Review

    If you’re looking for something fun and sexy that has scenes so well imagined that you will be deciding who will play the characters of Shay and Dominic in a movie (yes, please), look no further than Rachel Lynn Solomon’s debut romantic comedy The Ex Talk. Read on for why I absolutely adored this book! I received an advanced copy of the book from Berkley via NetGalley; all opinions are my own. This post contains some affiliate links that may earn me a commission if you purchase through them. My Thoughts on The Ex Talk This book was such a delight on all levels, and is my first romance 5-star…

    Comments Off on The Ex Talk by Rachel Lynn Solomon – Book Review
  • blog tour banner for Stork Bite
    book review,  Books

    Stork Bite by L.K. SIMONDS – Book Review

      STORK BITE by L.K. SIMONDS Genre: Historical Fiction / Southern Fiction Date of Publication: November 30, 2020 Number of Pages: 359 pages  Scroll down for Giveaway!   SYNOPSIS “Everything has to be reconciled eventually.” Caddo Parish, 1913. On an October morning, a Klansman confronts seventeen-year-old David Walker at a hidden oxbow lake where he has gone to hunt. David accidentally kills the man and hides the crime. His determination to protect his family from reprisal drives him far from home and into manhood. Shreveport, 1927. Cargie (rhymes with Margie) Barre and Mae Compton are two vastly different young women, but both are defying convention to reach for their dreams. The…

  • Cover image for The Paris Library
    book review,  Books

    Book Review: The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles

    Fans of Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Melanie Benjamin’s Mistress of the Ritz will thoroughly enjoy Janet Skeslien Charles’ new book The Paris Library. I received an advanced copy of the book from the publisher via NetGalley; all opinions are my own. This post contains some affiliate links that may earn me a commission if you purchase through them. Book Details and Synopsis My Thoughts On The Paris Library I’ve been on a binge of historical fiction novels and loved this one. The Paris Library is both a love letter to libraries (and to book lovers). It also introduced me to a bit of WWII history that I was unaware of.…

    Comments Off on Book Review: The Paris Library by Janet Skeslien Charles
  • book blog tour banner for Ely Air Lines
    book review,  Books

    Ely Air Lines by Mike Ely & Linda Street-Ely – Top Ten List

    Today I’m featuring Ely Air Lines! Written by co-authors and licensed pilots Mike Ely and Linda Street-Ely, this two-volume series features select stories from ten years of their weekly newspaper column of the same name. For a bit of a sneak peek, I’m sharing their “Top Ten” list of places where they’ve landed! Read on to learn more about these fascinating authors, their top 10 list, and be sure to both enter the giveaway for their books and check out the tour list for more great content about these books! ELY AIR LINES Select Stories from 10 Years of a Weekly Column Volumes 1 & 2byMIKE ELY AND LINDA STREET-ELY Genre: NonfictionCategories:…

  • book review,  Books

    Comfort Foods by Kimberly Fish – Book Review

    ⭐️⭐️Today I’m jumping on the Lone Star Book Blog Tour for Comfort Foods, a delicious addition to author Kimberly Fish’s series set in Comfort, Texas. Read on for my thoughts on the novel, enter the fantastic giveaway, and take a look at the other blogs on the tour stop – we’ve got some great content for you! Many thanks to Lone Star Book Blog Tours and the author for providing a copy of the book. All opinions are my own.   COMFORT FOODS: A Comfort Stories Stand-Alone Novel byKimberly Fish Categories: Contemporary / Second Chance RomancePublisher: Fish Tales PublishingDate of Publication: October 7, 2020Number of Pages: 385 pages  Scroll down for Giveaway!…

  • Blog Banner for the Black-Marketer's Daughter
    book review,  Books

    THE BLACK-MARKETER’S DAUGHTER by Suman Mallick + Guest Post

    Today on the blog I’m bringing you a guest post from author Suman Mallick, courtesy of Lone Star Book Blog Tours. I’d already added Mallick’s debut novel The Black-Marketer’s Daughter to my TBR pile, and his post has moved the book to the top of the stack! The story behind the story is as compelling as the praise it has already received. Read on for the synopsis, Mallick’s guest post titled “The Story Behind the Story” and be sure to check out other stops on the Lone Star book blog tour for reviews, author interviews, and an excerpt of the novel! THE BLACK-MARKETER’S DAUGHTERbySuman Mallick Category: Contemporary / Literary Fiction…