• On Ocean Boulevard
    book review,  Books

    On Ocean Boulevard by Mary Alice Monroe

    Mary Alice Monroe returns to the shores of South Carolina, Primrose Cottage, and the Rutledge family in On Ocean Boulevard, the newest edition to her long-running The Beach House Series. I received an advance copy of the book from Gallery Books via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.  All opinions are my own. This post may contain affiliate links. The Book My Take I have been a Mary Alice Monroe fan for a long time. Any new book in her Beach House series with the Rutledge family is like catching up with an old friend. (That said, you don’t need to have read the earlier books to jump into…

  • Real Men Knit
    book review,  Books

    Book Review: Real Men Knit by Kwana Jackson

    Real Men Knit is the first book I’ve read by Kwana Jackson, who also writes romances under the name of K.M Jackson. I definitely need to get my hands on her Sugar Lake series, as it sounds like it is right up my alley as well. If you’re a fan of contemporary romance, this slow burn romance set in a knitting shop in Harlem may be just the book you need for a quick escape or beach read. Disclosure: I received an advance copy of the book from Berkley Publishing Group via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.  All opinions are my own. This post may contain affiliate links.…

  • book review,  Books

    Book Review: Not Like The Movies by Kerry Winfrey

    If you are looking for a book to escape into, Kerry Winfrey’s fun, frustrating, and delightful novel Not Like The Movies is exactly what you need right now. I received an advance copy of the book from Berkley Publishing Group via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.  All opinions are my own. This post may contain affiliate links. The Book My Take I absolutely love rom-com movies, and Not Like The Movies totally feeds my need, only in book form! It’s funny, quirky, has moments that are both heartwarming and delightfully cringeworthy. Chloe is the perfect protagonist – sunny, colorful, constantly positive, drowns her emotions in baking pies. She…

  • image of five christmas romances
    book review,  Books

    Five Christmas Romances to Curl Up with this December

    Confession: I find it difficult to get into Christmas novels when it’s (1) not even Thanksgiving and (2) it’s still 97º here in Texas. I was naughty. I waited until closer to Thanksgiving to begin to read these five lovely, uplifting Christmas romances and then share them with YOU in December, when you’re REALLY in the Christmas spirit. Except that this year has been more disorganized than most, so I’m even later getting this out. Which, really, should be perfect timing, actually. You’ve probably knocked out most of your list over Black Friday and Cyber Monday (well done, you)! Now, you’re looking for something to curl up with while you…

  • COVER IMAGE of Kingdom of Exiles
    book review,  Books

    Kingdom of Exiles by Maxym M Martineau

    Fans of adult fantasy (and mature YA readers) will enjoy Kingdom of Exiles by author Maxym M Martineau. Read on for more about this book which is the first of The Beast Charmer trilogy. Thanks to Sourcebooks and NetGalley for providing me with an advance copy of this book. This post contains affiliate links. All opinions and overuse of the passive voice are my own. My Review The blurb for Kingdom of Exiles was appealing, and I wasn’t disappointed. If you are looking for an action-packed story with an original concept, a strong female lead character, incredible beasties, an imaginatively and well-developed world, interesting and likable characters (even if you…

  • book review,  Books

    Two Great Historical Fiction Novels for Dual-Timeline Fans

    I’ve been on a historical fiction kick and I have been seeing out those that have a dual-timeline. Set in different eras of war, The Light Over London and Bellewether are two such books that NetGalley kindly provided me for review AND that I couldn’t put down. Please note, this post contains affiliate links. The Light Over London by Julia Kelly ticked all the boxes for me: World War II fiction, romance, compelling characters – AND I learned something new with the Gunner Girl storyline. There are many parallels between the two women. They share a similarity in that they take on challenges to overcome or escape something. Cara is…

  • One Summer In Paris
    book review,  Books

    One Summer in Paris by Sarah Morgan

    One Summer in Paris is a lovely, easy read that is perfect for fans of Susan Mallery, Elin Hilderbrand or Mary Kay Andrews. I was delighted to receive a review copy from NetGalley. (As usual, all opinions are my own. And yes, this review does include affiliate links should you want to grab a copy for yourself!) In One Summer in Paris, two very different women escape from their current lives and travel to Paris. In doing so, each discovers herself. The chapters alternate between two female characters. Author Sarah Morgan does an excellent job balancing the two storylines which intersect midway through the book. They are an unlikely duo,…

  • Thursday Things
    Books

    Thursday Things

    With spring break behind me, I’ve got a lot of things rattling in my head. Most of it isn’t enough for a full post, but are loosely related. Thursday Things is a bit of a brain dump – a bit of what I’m excited about, a bit of what has me frustrated, and it all took place during spring break. Oh, and there are affiliate links in this post. I talk about those, too. Kind of. Shh. • • • In Which I Get On My Soapbox and Rant About Coaches and Vacations Last week was spring break for our school district. We didn’t go anywhere because we are rule…

  • matchmaker's
    book review,  Books

    The Matchmaker’s List by Sonya Lalli – A Book Review

    I was given an advanced reader copy of The Matchmaker’s List by NetGalley and I couldn’t put it down. I also struggled a bit with how to review it, as I hate spoilers, and this one has a doozy of a plot device midway through might make your eye twitch a bit with discomfort. Ultimately, though, I really enjoyed the story. Read on for my review, which contains affiliate links (because this girl needs her coffee). The Matchmaker’s List is described as a romantic comedy, but I think it is so much more than that – I’d put it firmly into women’s fiction, as this is not all light and fluffy,…

  • book review,  Books

    Book Review: I Owe You One by Sophie Kinsella

    Fans of Sophie Kinsella will be excited to learn she is back with another book chock full of quirky characters, eye-rolling situations and snappy dialogue. I Owe You One hits the shelves today, the perfect escape read! I must make note that there are affiliate links in this post, and if you click one, it just may contribute to my coffee fund. NetGalley kindly gave me an advanced reader copy for review purposes, but all thoughts and typos are my own. Read on to learn more about her newest release, I Owe You One! I Owe You One was delightful. Sophie Kinsella brings us another great character, and as someone…