• book review,  Books

    Books to Help Understand Anti-Racism and Race

    Wanting to be a better white ally means learning about systemic racism. To do that, we need to dig a little deeper into U.S. history, because we’re simply not taught it fully in school, at least in a way that we understand the nuances and all that shaped how we ended up where we all are today. As the fantastic graphic above by illustrator Jane Mount shows, there is no shortage of books that talk about race and racism. Non-fiction offers a direct (and often blunt) path to understanding. Fiction provides an excellent means to see and feel things from a different perspective. Putting both together marries the factual aspects…

  • book review,  Books

    Book Review: Not Like The Movies by Kerry Winfrey

    If you are looking for a book to escape into, Kerry Winfrey’s fun, frustrating, and delightful novel Not Like The Movies is exactly what you need right now. I received an advance copy of the book from Berkley Publishing Group via NetGalley in exchange for an unbiased review.  All opinions are my own. This post may contain affiliate links. The Book My Take I absolutely love rom-com movies, and Not Like The Movies totally feeds my need, only in book form! It’s funny, quirky, has moments that are both heartwarming and delightfully cringeworthy. Chloe is the perfect protagonist – sunny, colorful, constantly positive, drowns her emotions in baking pies. She…

    Comments Off on Book Review: Not Like The Movies by Kerry Winfrey
  • Wicked as you wish
    book review,  Books

    Book Review: Wicked As You Wish by Rin Chupeco

    If you are looking for something different, WICKED AS YOU WISH is the YA novel for you. Blending alternative history, contemporary fantasy, and fairy tales, author Rin Chupeco has crafted a wild adventure. This is a very different book from her other, darker stories, and one that you will likely read more than once as there is so much to discover. Many thanks to NetGalley for providing me with a digital ARC of the book. This post contains affiliate links. That means if you click on my link and buy something, I will earn a small commission from the advertiser at no additional cost to you. THE DEETS: WICKED AS…

    Comments Off on Book Review: Wicked As You Wish by Rin Chupeco
  • image of five christmas romances
    book review,  Books

    Five Christmas Romances to Curl Up with this December

    Confession: I find it difficult to get into Christmas novels when it’s (1) not even Thanksgiving and (2) it’s still 97º here in Texas. I was naughty. I waited until closer to Thanksgiving to begin to read these five lovely, uplifting Christmas romances and then share them with YOU in December, when you’re REALLY in the Christmas spirit. Except that this year has been more disorganized than most, so I’m even later getting this out. Which, really, should be perfect timing, actually. You’ve probably knocked out most of your list over Black Friday and Cyber Monday (well done, you)! Now, you’re looking for something to curl up with while you…

    Comments Off on Five Christmas Romances to Curl Up with this December
  • One Summer In Paris
    book review,  Books

    One Summer in Paris by Sarah Morgan

    One Summer in Paris is a lovely, easy read that is perfect for fans of Susan Mallery, Elin Hilderbrand or Mary Kay Andrews. I was delighted to receive a review copy from NetGalley. (As usual, all opinions are my own. And yes, this review does include affiliate links should you want to grab a copy for yourself!) In One Summer in Paris, two very different women escape from their current lives and travel to Paris. In doing so, each discovers herself. The chapters alternate between two female characters. Author Sarah Morgan does an excellent job balancing the two storylines which intersect midway through the book. They are an unlikely duo,…

    Comments Off on One Summer in Paris by Sarah Morgan
  • Thursday Things
    Books

    Thursday Things

    With spring break behind me, I’ve got a lot of things rattling in my head. Most of it isn’t enough for a full post, but are loosely related. Thursday Things is a bit of a brain dump – a bit of what I’m excited about, a bit of what has me frustrated, and it all took place during spring break. Oh, and there are affiliate links in this post. I talk about those, too. Kind of. Shh. • • • In Which I Get On My Soapbox and Rant About Coaches and Vacations Last week was spring break for our school district. We didn’t go anywhere because we are rule…

    Comments Off on Thursday Things
  • book review,  Books

    Book Review: The Glitch by Elisabeth Cohen

    I received The Glitch for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review, because I do these reviews for love of books.  This post contains affiliate links you can use to purchase the book. If you buy the book using that link, I will receive a small commission from the sale. If you like this post, do me a solid and buy your book from Amazon via my link.   Every now and again a book comes across your desk, and the blurb intrigues you. And then it turns out to be completely different…

    Comments Off on Book Review: The Glitch by Elisabeth Cohen